Week 39: Robert & Madison Time

Over the past week, Greenville’s spring/summer weather has blossomed and Robert and I are so stinking excited that we can’t stand it. We’ve spent every moment possible outside taking walks, lounging by the pool, sitting on our front porch, walking around downtown and cherishing every single moment with each other.

This week, I’ve started to have Braxton Hicks contractions! My wonderful friend Lauren gave me a gift certificate for a mani/pedi which I took full advantage of on Wednesday. That next morning, I woke up to a really hard stomach. (I’ve always heard that pedis can help kick-start labor…) I immediately called Robert to tell him and he was super excited saying “tell Baby Girl to COME ON.” I also group texted my family telling them not to freak, and of course, my sister responded “go to the doctor ASAP.” 🙂 I knew that I had a doctor’s appointment that Thursday afternoon, so I figured I’d ask my doctor about it then. The small-ish contractions continued throughout the day, but never really hurt. In fact, the only way I knew I was having them was when I went to touch my stomach and felt the hardness.

When I got to the doctor that afternoon, I told her what I’d been feeling and she suggested that she measure me to see if I was dilated. After her exam, she told me I was .5cm dilated, which, she said, basically meant nothing. She said it could mean that I was going to go into labor that night OR I could wait another 2 weeks and still not have the baby. It put my mind at ease.

On Friday, we grabbed pizza downtown and walked for about 3 miles up and down mainstream and near the suspension bridge. Saturday was filled with pool time and visiting Artisphere and making a delish strawberry/spinach salad for dinner. For Mother’s Day on Sunday, I woke up to a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a card from Robert. He made sure to let me know that the flowers were from both the Baby and him. ❤ We took my mom and dad to breakfast after church and then played 18 holes of golf on Sunday afternoon. This baby bump is seriously balancing out my golf shot. Mother’s Day made me even more excited for our baby to make her way into the world.

Everyone keeps asking me if I think I’ll have Baby Girl early. But, outside of work, I’m one of those people who takes deadlines to the absolute last minute. I wait to fill up on gas until I’m literally coasting into the gas station; I change my oil when either my dad or Robert tells me that my engine will probably blow up soon; and if we have dinner reservations at 7, I take my time getting ready so that we get to the restaurant at 6:59. So, my thought is that if this baby is anything like me, she’ll either decide to make her appearance on or after her May 17 due date. And you know what? That’s perfectly fine with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

