The Big Reveal– It’s a GIRL!

When we found out that we were having a baby, Robert and I made the decision that we wanted to know the sex of the baby before he or she was born. We wanted to be able to better prepare for his or her arrival and take some of the guessing out of this new major life event.

My sister started bugging me around my twelfth week of pregnancy asking when we were going to find out the baby’s sex. I told her that my doctor recommended we wait until week twenty to find out the sex and to complete an anatomy scan (which was true). I was set to reach week 19 on the Sunday before Christmas, but told our families that we couldn’t find out the sex of the baby until early January (a white lie). So that we could surprise them on Christmas Day, I actually ended up scheduling my sex reveal ultrasound the week before Christmas.

Robert and I were so anxious waiting for the appointment all day. When I showed up to the doctor’s office, Robert had already been walking around the parking lot by himself for about 10 minutes. He said he couldn’t sit still!

Walking into the appointment, we both were convinced that we were having a boy. I’d had two dreams about people physically writing out “It’s a BOY” on paper, and Robert had a gut instinct that it was a boy as well. Needless to say, when the nurse asked us what we thought we were having, we without a hesitation both said “Boy.”

During the ultrasound, the baby was folded completely in half. The nurse asked me to hop up and jump around so that the baby would turn. I asked her, “If the baby doesn’t, move, are we going to have to wait to find out his or her sex?” She replied, “Nope, I’ve already seen it, I’m just trying to get a better picture .” So, of course we were convinced that the “it” she was referring to meant that we were having a boy. Once I jumped and the baby moved around a bit, the nurse froze the screen and said “Ok– it’s time”. She wrote, “It’s…A….Girl!” Once we saw the G come up on the screen, we both screamed! We were blown away and SO excited.

It was my idea to wait until Christmas to tell our families, but Robert wanted to scream it from the rooftops once we left the dang appointment! Instead, we held it in as far as we (I) could and ended up deciding to tell our families on the Tuesday before Christmas. That day, my handyman husband drilled holes in pink Wilson golf balls and hung pretty ribbon through them to make ornaments. I wrapped them in sparkly boxes and we took them over to my family’s house. Before we ate dinner with my family, Robert brought the boxes in and I told them that we’d found out the sex of the baby (which created the first set of screams). We told them that they’d have to open up the boxes to find out! Once they opened up the boxes and saw the pink ornaments, there was jumping and screaming and crying! I swear our neighbors probably thought someone died. We told Robert’s family the next day and they were all so very excited for our Baby Girl! golf ball

The rest of the Christmas week/weekend was filled with family, friends, sharing ultrasound pictures, relaxing, laughing and eating. By the end of the weekend, I’d finally popped a bit.

Here’s my 20-week selfie before a workout class (kinda) with my sister and mom:

baby bump

Leave a Reply

