Planning, planning, planning.

In the past, when I’ve heard girls say “I have SO much to plan for my wedding,” and “I have to go home to do wedding planning,” I’ve rolled my eyes. I would think to myself, “ Is it really THAT complicated?”  It is. And I apologize to every girl that I’ve ever rolled my eyes at now. There are a million little things that need to be decided upon- and I’ve started to realize that over the past month.

Robert and I have now been engaged for a little over 3 weeks. Since then, we’ve booked a reception spot, picked out our bridal party, bought bridesmaids’ dresses and jewelry, decided the main wedding colors, narrowed down photographers and bands, booked a florist and booked a day-of wedding planner. EEKS! Who knew all of that went into a love-filled, wedding weekend?

While we (me and my mom) were a bit overwhelmed in the beginning of planning, I think we’re feeling more comfortable with all of the decisions that need to be made since the wedding and reception venues are booked. Instead of stressing about every little detail, I’m embracing the phone calls, emails, texts and even Pinterest boards that are surrounding my wedding. It’s an amazing feeling to have everyone you love focused on you and your Big Celebration.

Last Monday, I had President’s Day off from work and was heading back to ATL from a long weekend in Myrtle Beach (½ marathon).  Instead of going straight back to the city, I headed home to Greenville to meet with my mom and chat through wedding stuff.  Our day turned from chatting about dates for a wedding shower and flower arrangements to things that are far more important.

My mom and I talk to each other a lot. Like a lot. Like at least once every day and sometimes even more. She’s my best friend and we have a really strong relationship. It seems as though during each life-changing event that I go through, I have a pretty serious heart-to-heart with my mom that differs from our other conversations.  These conversations are in no-way planned, but they somehow naturally occur. It happened before I went to college. It happened before I graduated and moved to Atlanta. It happened before I decided to take a new job. And it happened on President’s Day.

This talk encompassed the future, marriage, friendships, worries, the “gems” in our lives and love. I will never, ever forget it.

Wedding planning so far has been an absolute blast. I’ve laughed at some of the dresses that my sister has picked out for the bridesmaids, I’ve smiled as I’ve chatted with my dad about his excitement for our Big Day, and I’ve even cried because of all of the emotions that I’m feeling all at once about everything at the same time.

This year is going to be a crazy, fun, loving, wedding-filled ride.  Bring.It.On.

One thought on “Planning, planning, planning.

Leave a Reply

