The Next Stop on the Fab 4 Tour: Charleston

I fell in love with Charleston this past weekend when I visited my sister. First of all, if I haven’t said it before, my sister attends physical therapy school in Charleston, has lived there since May and is kicking butt in her classes. She lives in an adorable apartment with one of her best friends in a perfect location.  Her apartment is smaller, and older, but my mom and I both agree that it has a lot of character.  The bright colors and fun artwork give it life and the hardwood floors are just crooked and uneven enough to make you stumble when you get up in the morning to brush your teeth.

Merrick was a perfect host. She explained the best path that took me straight to the Battery on my morning run. She introduced me to her PT friends and took me out to a couple of her favorite bars.  And she took me to the beach on Sullivan’s on Friday where we speculated about Reese Witherspoon’s house (how often she visited, who took care of the house when she was away, whose car was parked in the driveway, etc.).

Early Morning Battery Run

Reese Witherspoon’s House on Sullivan’s Island

When Sam and Robert arrived on Friday afternoon, we all went to one of Merr’s favorite downtown restaurants, King Street Grille, and then headed to her college friend’s apartment.  The rest of the night consisted of Mynt, Trio, taking in the beautiful weather at an outside bar, dancing to a live band,  running into old friends, Merr playing the tambourine with the band, Bubba Styles and a long walk home. 🙂

Bramblewood Girls from Greenville

Madison, Robert and Sammy

At Mynt on the VIP Green Couch

On Saturday, Merr took us to the Charleston market and to breakfast/lunch at Toast with awesome bottomless mimosas. After scooting around DT Charleston, we headed back to Merr’s apartment to watch our Tigers beat down (kind of) BC and to watch USA beat down on Europe in the Ryder Cup (before the let down on Sunday). Since Merr usually doesn’t let Sam eat seafood when he goes to Charleston because she despises it, and since Robert and I both like it, Merr sucked it up and we went to a crab house for a late dinner. It was easy to tell that Sam hadn’t had seafood in while because homeboy hammered down on some crab legs.

After our double date, Merrick took us to a church that had been turned into a bar.  This, of course, sparked multiple questions from all four of us: “Are the booths made of old pews? Where did the priest used to stand? What is the shining light behind the stained glass windows? Is it sacrilegious to be cheering for a football game and drinking Bud Lights while a guitarist plays Pearl Jam in a former house of God?”

The drive home on Sunday wasn’t too bad, but I was sad to leave my sister, Robert, Sam and Charleston. I think the next time that the Fab 4 will reunite will be around Thanksgiving and, “I don’t like it.”

Leave a Reply

