Happy Mother’s Day, Pattycakes!

My mom has taught me many lessons throughout my 23 short years, but there’s one in particular that rings true in almost every situation in which I’m placed.  A story that exemplifies this lesson happened about 6 years ago before I started my freshman year at Clemson University.  I was so excited to head to orientation to meet my future classmates, visit the campus and schedule classes.  My mom and I made it through the first day with no glitches- everything was perfect. I spent the night in the dorms and my mom headed back to Greenville with the intent to head back to Clemson in the morning to finish walking through orientation with me.

The next morning, my mom picked me up from the dorms and asked if I was hungry. Of COURSE I was! We were forced to eat in the dining hall and I hadn’t gotten used to the cafeteria food, yet- so I didn’t touch it.  We decided to grab bagels at Einsten’s in the Hendrix center around 10 a.m.  As we were sitting down, it seemed as though everyone was scurrying around the campus with a look of purpose on their faces. I asked my mom where she thought they were going and she said, “Pshh they’re probably just going to see the dorms and the dining hall, and you’ve already seen them so we’re fine to just stay here.” My response? “You’re right! Ok.”

My mom suggested that we look through the course catalog and pick out my classes for my Communication Studies classes.  We looked at the general education requirements, electives, and major-specific classes and planned out my first semester as a Clemson Tiger. I was super excited.  When my time came to register for classes in a building across campus that afternoon, my mom and I headed that way with confidence and determination.

Well… when I walked into the room by myself to register for classes, all hell broke loose. I had no idea what I was doing and all of the classes that I thought I needed were no longer open.  When a volunteer came over to help me, she asked how my advising meeting had gone that morning at 10 a.m. “What advising meeting?” I asked.  “Oh my gosh did you skip your meeting today? Sorry I can’t help you,” said the volunteer as she walked away.

We had completely overlooked the advising meeting that apparently the rest of the orientation class had participated in while my mom and I munched our plain bagels with cream cheese.  I finally figured out my classes with the help of another volunteer, but it was probably one of the times that I’ve been most stressed in my life.

But guess what? I don’t regret skipping my advising meeting.  There’s no way in this world that I would give up the hour and a half that I spent with my mom talking about classes, my future and laughing about random things.

Lesson learned from my mom?

Cherish the time that you get to spend with the ones that you love because it beats everything.       

I’m so lucky to have my mom. She’s the first person that I want to call when I’ve had an exceptionally good day or a really bad day. She’s the person that I go to for advice on anything and everything. She’s the person who I know will share smiles, tears and laughs with me at any moment. I see a lot of my mom in myself and I love it.

Happy Mother’s Day, Ma!

My Family

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day, Pattycakes!

Leave a Reply

