The Happiest 5K on the Planet & Branny’s Surprise Party

For those who don’t know, I recently joined Porter Novelli, a global public relations company, in January.  I’m working on the technology practice as an account executive and am loving every minute of it.  I felt so welcome walking into the firm back in January- and that feeling hasn’t left.  At the very first staff meeting, when our general manager announced my arrival, my new colleagues started clapping and yelling- putting an immediate smile upon my face- which also hasn’t left.  My team has helped me ramp up on my clients, I’ve learned the lay of the Porter Novelli land and I’ve even traveled twice in the past three months. It’s been a great experience thus far.

Two weekends ago, my sister and Sam came into town for a weekend full of activities including a 5K race and a surprise birthday party.  We took them to our new favorite restaurant on Friday night, Mikros in Buckhead for pasta and I think it’s safe to say that they loved it.

Our whole apartment (Margo, Lauren, Merrick, Sam, Robert and me) woke up early on Saturday and dressed all in white to get ready for The Color Run 5K in Piedmont Park.  See before:

During the race, volunteers threw a flour-like substance of varying colors at us at every kilometer mark.  By the end, we were covered in green, yellow, pink, purple and teal colors! See after:

Roommates after the Color Run

Robert and Madison after the Color Run

After the Color Run

Merrick and Madison after the Color Run

The 10,000 runners raised money for the Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta.  All in all, it was a fun run, good exercise, and it was for a great cause.  After taking 3 showers to get the color off of our skin and laying out by the pool, we started getting ready for the big surprise party that night.

For weeks, my roommate Lauren had been planning a surprise birthday party for her soon-to-be 25-year-old boyfriend.  Lauren reserved a part of Fado for about 30 of Brandon’s friends and family.  She lured him to Fado by suggesting that they watch the Final Four games at the bar before going to dinner.  When they showed up, Brandon was totally taken off-guard and totally surprised.  In addition to the perfect party planning, Lauren also scheduled celebrity appearances by Justin Timberlake, Amy Adams, Clint Eastwood and that random guy in all of Freddie Prinze Jr.’s movies, Matthew Lillard.  They were all in town filming a new movie, Trouble with the Curve.

While I wish that I could say we rubbed elbows with the celebs, they were very stand-offish and didn’t want to have much to do with the birthday boy and/or his entourage.  We had a great time and I still think that LC is still the best party planner in ATL.

Maggie, Margo, Lauren, Madison, Emily and Merrick at Brandon's surprise party!

Sidenote: I love when my sister and Sam come into town because they integrate so well with my friends and they’re always up for anything.

Leave a Reply

