Updates from the North

It’s December 22 and I can’t sleep. And it’s snowing. And I’m in Canada.

The past month and a half has been a whirlwind of events and I haven’t had a chance to keep my blog updated.  In the beginning of November, I was called into our EVP’s office and asked to work on an account that would require me to travel to Canada every other week until the spring. Of course I was excited about the account and about the travel, but nervous because of three things: 1. I didn’t have a passport. 2. I’d never traveled by myself before. 3. I’d never been out of the country.

So within a week, I’d expedited a passport, bought warm clothes (with the help of my sister and mom) and hopped my little rear on a jet headed to Toronto.  I quickly had to introduce Atlanta, warm-blooded Madison to Canadian, freezing cold Madison.  The account that I’m working on is one that really interests me and traveling sure breaks up the work month.  This week is my third week here and I’ve had positive impressions of Canada so far.

I’ve been given the chance to work with a team from all over the US and Canada and have learned so much by seeing and adapting to work styles and personalities.  A few of my colleagues work in Edelman’s Chicago office, and I’ll be heading there soon after the New Year. I am SO excited to go to Chicago.

This weekend JD and I went and bought Hunter boots to make sure that my tootsies are warm because I’ll be walking through the snow to get to the office. My cousin lives in Chicago and I hope to see her while I’m there.

I head home on Thursday and am flying in to see my family in Greenville. I’m so excited to bake, shop and play tons of games with my family. I’m not going to promise that I’ll update this blog any more often than usual, but I’m going to try.

Merry Christmas to you all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

