Outside My Euphoric Bubble

Yesterday, one of things that we talked about in class was raising awareness of homelessness in the Clemson community.  To be honest, I have never seen a homeless person in Clemson- and I’ve been here for four years.  Dr. David Novak said that if the Clemson Police Department wouldn’t mind, he would have a few of my classmates pretend to be homeless and sit outside Sikes Hall.  For those of you who don’t know, Sikes Hall sits on the side of a major road that runs through Clemson University’s campus. 

 As I visualized this scenario in my head, I tried to think of what thoughts would run thr0ugh my mind if I saw a group of homeless students sitting on the side of the road in Clemson.  It definitely would raise my awareness of homelessness.  It would also remind me that other issues occur outside of this euphoric bubble that I’ve been living in for the past four years.  As a college student, I’m most worried about my next graded paper, how much time I have to squeeze in a relaxing run, and what bars my friends are going to on Friday nights.  This capstone class has started to open my eyes to bigger, worldly issues- and I like it.

4 thoughts on “Outside My Euphoric Bubble

  1. Madison, I’ve been thinking alot about this since class yesterday and what are the implications of doing something like this? Will the university be upset? Is it legal? We will have to talk more about this in class because my initial read on the class is that people are interested in doing something like this.

    How controversial this could be! And what good discussions it would stimulate (hopefully).

    • Thanks for your comment David. I would be happy to take initiative and get these questions answered. I really think it would generate a LOT of discussion and definitely raise awareness of homelessness. We may even want to do this in different locations around campus. I agree that this would be very controversial.

  2. Good post Madison, I was thinking a lot about this too and I think a bubble is a good way to describe how a lot of us Clemson students are living.

    Really, I feel like Clemson is a small, tight community and something of this magnitude could really get people talking. Especially if we started spreading word before the event through Twitter and just word of mouth then continued the conversation after the event the same way with maybe an article in the Tiger too.

    Let me know if you need help organizing something like this because I think it would be really interesting to see how it plays out.

    Erin

    • Erin,
      Hopefully when we organize our teams, one of them can work on this project. I think we will know more tomorrow after talking to the directors. I’m so glad that others are interested in this project.

Leave a Reply

