The Shop is “joining the conversation”!

I’ve worked at The Shop in Simpsonville, S.C. since I was in the tenth grade.  I worked every day after school, in the summers during high school, and during Fall/Thanksgiving/Christmas breaks while attending Clemson.  The Shop is a locally owned small business tmonogram1hat makes custom draperies and monograms EVERYTHING you can think of.  It is because of The Shop that my obsession of monograms has grown into an unhealthy one.

While working at The Shop, I performed all kinds of tasks ranging from monogramming to working on the custom drapes that were created to selling merchandise in the front of the store.  I’ve worked with a number of The Shop’s employees and have become close with the owner, Kim Wickert.  Kim is one of the most outgoing, funny, creative, flexible bosses that I’ve ever worked for.  But Kim is more than that, she is a family friend who frequently comes to our house with her family to sit on our porch and talk about… life.

After telling Kim about how I was learning the impact of social media, we decided it would be smart for her to start blogging.  I volunteered to help Kim with her blog and provide advice that may help her company grow.  We plan on sharing funny “Shop” stories that will give The Shop a personal touch.  We also plan on featuring a product every week that will show customers different products that The Shop offers.  We are hoping that with this blog, The Shop will gain customers and hopefully peak the interest of others who may not know much about The Shop.

I would not consider myself a “pro” at blogging by any means, so I’m posing this question to you…

What are the DO’s and DON’T’s of blogging for a small business? I look forward to all of your advice, comments, and questions!

3 thoughts on “The Shop is “joining the conversation”!

  1. volunteering your skills is a great way to get started!
    If it’s OK with you, maybe we’ll use this as a class case study later in the semester.

    But until then, I’d like to remind you of Geno’s presentation about Fiskars: the conversation is not about scissors (products). The conversation is about something people are passionate about. What is that “something” that The Shop’s customers are passionate about? That’s what should drive blog content, not the products.

  2. Thanks for your input Dr. V. I’m helping her mainly over spring break so I will be blogging about my experiences with helping her.

  3. I think a majority of The Shop’s customers are passionate about “personalization”. They like their clothing and accessories (purses, shoes, towels, etc) to be monogrammed and their window treatments to be unique and one of a kind. The one on one attention also appeals to these customers. The Shop carries accessories and baby items, not available in big department stores, again attrracting customers who like to be “different ” and give personalized gifts.

    I can’t wait to see how this goes Madison!

Leave a Reply

